Posted by: oldeforest | April 25, 2009

Found Plants!

So I was ambling about my turf last winter when I spied a number of lumps of dirt, that appeared to have the roots/rhizomes of various perenials.  It was the normal balmy New England winter temps though, so my reaction was to assume that the plants where dead, and and be sad that the person dumped them instead of replanting them elsewhere.  Much to my shock, however, they started sprouting this spring.  I wasn’t sure what they were, so I potted them and pestered both parents for IDs.  Apparently they are Japanese Iris, Day Lylies, and lilys of the valley.  I’m still mistified as to why people would have tossed them instead of replanting or giving them away, but I guess that just contenues to stress the importance of carefully eyeing things that others have designated as trash.

Leave a Reply

Categories

