Posted by: oldeforest | April 12, 2009

Deployment: Phase One

So, I finally lost patience waiting and started putting out the rest of my garden’s fashion accouterments. Some of these items I have made over the winter and posted about already, some were made in previous years, some were found in the trash, in the yard, or in the garage, and a few were purchased. At the bottom of the picture below, you can see some prefab concrete pavers that I mosaiced over with broken pottery, to the side of the white stone path, you can also see another mosaiced paver done in pebbles. In the trees I have hung various blown glass balls and Christmas decorations. The orange one was purchased from a friend’s gallery in Ligonier PA called G Squared. Also, on either side of the entrance to the path are two strange metal stakes that I found in our basement, from which I have hung two of the lanterns I made last winter.

The pavers are surprisingly easy to make. You have to get a glue to hold pieces down and a grout of some type. Both seem hard to manage since the directions for mixing them up are meant to make enough for a huge job, and, due to the english measurements, hard to convert to smaller quantities. If you read carefully though, you can find a description of the desired consistency. If you aim for that consistancy and just add water bit by bit, you can easily get a smaller quantity. I would like to give credit to my mom’s friend Susan for helping me figure this out!

path

In the picture below, you see an interesting cast iron disk that came from the front garden bed and one of the window grates I found back in January that I will probably bolt to this wall as a trellis.

cimg0146

In this picture you can see an odd stone disk that also came from the front lot. I really have no idea what this was cut for. The hole in the middle is off-center, and there are two bands of what might be the remnents of some sort of grout. Quite odd.

stonedisk

On the wall below there is an interesting wrought iron pot hanger that my little sister spyed in the trash one day as we were driving down Boylston st. in Jamaica Plain. On the little table in the corner (also a trash find I think) is a skull, a picture frame and a piece of an old chair with painted flowers. Most of those came from the trash, but the skull was a gift from my friend Leslie.

foundobjects

Responses

  1. Hey there, A,

    You are domesticating the location little by little. Can’t wait to see this landscape when it greens up. Will you add pots with flowers, etc.?

    • Yep, lots of pots and flowers and stuff. I want to put some tropicals in pots in the driveway to sort of carve out a bit more space for sitting. I got a couple cannae, a deep purple calla lily and an acanthus to go in them. The persimmon (don’t tell Mark) will be in a pot too, and we will winter it in the basement or something. Mark said his friend thinks this is a highly suspicious activity to engage in, but otherwheres on the net, people say they have pulled it off. It won’t produce a lot of fruit, but we mostly want it because its pretty :).


Leave a Reply

Categories

