An Extreemly Homemade Bench

Well, last fall, in the middle of my most obsessive phase I came home from school and decided to make a bench. I suppose I should not have been shocked that it immediately snowed so deeply that the bench was hidden…until now! There were some old planks left out behind our garage to rot and there was a small tree that had been cut down. I was shocked at how easy it was to cut everything with a nice saw that I had recently bought and just throw it together. It’s the braces between the legs that make it capable of standing up despite just being nailed together with a few nails. It took an hour or two only. Its not the sturdiest thing, but it does hold two room mates without too much trouble and it will add a nice focal point out in the woodland part of the garden. I would love to learn how to properly carpenter together stuff, but I’m pretty pleased with the result. I guess what I am trying to say, is don’t let ignorance get in the way of creativity. Except possibly when working with dynamite.

bench1

Leave a Reply

