Posted by: oldeforest | January 6, 2009

The Current State of Affairs

I live in a large house with four other fabulous people and we have five garden spaces to work with,  the small garden at the front of the house, the side raised bed along the driveway, a small plot at the back of the house, and a happy grove of trees behind the garage.  I am leaving the front and side alone for the moment, except to throw some bulbs into it.  It seems to have been planted before and I want to see what comes up.  Also, the delightful roommates have been working on it some, so I don’t want to hog all of the space.

That leaves the back and the grove of trees for me and a roommate with a fondness for persimmons who wants to help. We are envisioning a funky orange and purple urban garden with spiky tropical looking plants for the back lot and I’m thinking of a more contemplative forest garden with a lot of native plants for behind the garage.  We also want to try to use as many recycled materials and plant as many eatibles and native plants.  I’ll post “before” pictures when more of the nasty snow melts.  Cheers!

Responses

  1. Well, I don’t have an earth shattering comment at this time. This should be fun, and I look forward to seeing where it goes.

    m

  2. I think your map is just as pretty as your Mom’s gardens- well …. maybe a bit of help is needed.
    The family problem has also consumed your cousins !
    SSSsss


Leave a Reply

Categories

